Home Rugby Is Stuart Dew a lifeless man strolling, or a possible premiership winner?

Is Stuart Dew a lifeless man strolling, or a possible premiership winner?

Is Stuart Dew a lifeless man strolling, or a possible premiership winner?


The jungle drums have begun to turn out to be deafening of their requires Stuart Dew to be fired by the Gold Coast Suns, with Caroline Wilson stating that Dew will let go earlier than the top of the season.

“It’s my agency perception that Stuart Dew’s days on the Gold Coast Suns are numbered, and in reality he might be gone as early as by the top of this month,” she stated on 9’s Footy Categorized.

However are these calls justified?

Ken Hinkley’s place at Port Adelaide is fiercely contested, even after stringing collectively a 12-game profitable streak throughout his time on the helm.

Leon Cameron left Larger Western Sydney after 9 years, while Brett Ratten (4 years at St Kilda) and Ben Rutten (two years at Essendon) got considerably much less time to win a premiership. With this wild variation in tenure, how lengthy ought to a coach be given to outlive and thrive of their pursuit of the holy grail?

Trying again on the historical past of the AFL reveals some attention-grabbing traits. Since 1990 when the VFL grew to become the AFL, 21 particular person coaches have received a premiership out of 33 years. For the needs of this text, three coaches and 4 years – Alan Joyce in 1991, Kevin Sheedy in 1993 and 2000 and David Parkin in 1995 – is not going to be included as they’d received premierships within the VFL and as such weren’t first-time winners.

Likewise, the 2 premierships received by Leigh Matthews in 2001 and Mick Malthouse in 2010 are additionally not counted as they’d received at earlier golf equipment. Lastly, the years during which a coach received their second or subsequent premiership – Mick Malthouse in 1994, Malcom Blight in 1998, Dennis Pagan in 1999, Leigh Matthews in 2002/03, Mark Thompson in 2009, Alastair Clarkson in 2013-2015, Damien Hardwick in 2019-2020 and Chris Scott in 2022 – are additionally not included.

Trent Cotchin

Trent Cotchin and Damien Hardwick have fun Richmond’s premiership win (Picture by Ryan Pierse/AFL Media/by way of Getty Photos )

This leaves us with 15 premierships have been received by first-time coaches. So, how do the probabilities of present coaches stack as much as current historical past?

First, we have a look at the coaches who have already got climbed the mountain.

We are able to think about Chris Scott (Geelong) protected, being not solely the reigning premiership coach but additionally one in all solely eight coaches with a number of premierships. A 3rd premiership in 2023 will put him within the unique membership of Hardwick and Matthews (three) and Clarkson (4) within the AFL period.

One other premiership for Alastair Clarkson (North Melbourne) would see him be a part of an much more unique group, with solely Leigh Matthews (Collingwood and Brisbane) and Mick Malthouse (West Coast and Collingwood) profitable premierships at two golf equipment. He would additionally be a part of solely 4 different coaches (Jack Worrall and Checker Hughes (5), Norm Smith (six) and Jock McHale (eight) as the one coaches with greater than 4 premierships and the primary since 1964.

Adam Simpson (West Coast), Luke Beveridge (Western Bulldogs), Simon Goodwin (Melbourne) and John Longmire (Sydney) want to be a part of Clarkson and Scott as present a number of premiership profitable coaches. Within the AFL period, Sheedy, Clarkson and Scott are the one coaches to not win their second premiership inside 4 years of the primary one with the identical membership, which signifies Goodwin as the one one more likely to be a part of the membership.

However what in regards to the coaches with out a premiership?

For Brad Scott (Essendon), Ross Lyon (St Kilda) and Michael Voss (Carlton), while we speak about coaches being higher the second or third time round, historical past is in opposition to them. Solely Mick Malthouse with West Coast and Malcom Blight with Adelaide have received premierships after teaching at one other membership with out profitable a premiership.

While Blight was capable of take Geelong to the Grand Closing in 1989, 1992 and 1994; Malthouse’s finest end was third in 1985, so fortunately for Scott and Voss Grand Closing expertise isn’t a prerequisite when making an attempt a second time.

No caretaker coach has ever received a premiership, for apparent causes, and given Richmond’s ladder place it appears Adam McQualter is unlikely to vary this.

For these with their first membership, six of the 15 premierships have been received by coaches inside their first three years. Of Craig McRae (Collingwood), Adam Kingsley (Larger Western Sydney) and Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn), McRae is finest positioned to affix this group with Collingwood sitting prime of the ladder.

Craig McRae

Collingwood coach Craig McRae. (Picture by Daniel Carson/AFL Images by way of Getty Photos)

Matthew Nicks and Justin Longmuir are finishing their fourth years with Adelaide and Fremantle respectively. Forty-seven per cent of coaches received their first premiership after their fourth yr, so each are nicely positioned traditionally to stay an opportunity to win a premiership.

For Chris Fagan (Brisbane), the chances slender dramatically. He would be a part of Thompson and Hardwick to win a premiership after seven years or extra with the one membership. Apparently, each grew to become a number of premiership-winning coaches. So, breaking the drought for Fagan might be the primary of many.

If Ken Hinkley was to win this yr, he’ll turn out to be the primary coach ever within the AFL period to win after 10 years with the one membership they’ve coached for. The one particular person to have received a premiership after 10 years was Malthouse with Collingwood, however that was together with his third membership.

Effectively, what about Dew? Until he can pull a rabbit out of his hat, the Suns aren’t profitable in 2023. This could full his sixth season in cost with out a premiership, at which level 87 per cent of coaches who went on to win one had already received it.

Of the 2 who hadn’t, each had coached in finals prior. So, Dew, supplied Gold Coast are unable to make a late cost and make the finals, would turn out to be the primary coach to win a premiership after greater than six seasons with out having beforehand making finals.

It’s a cutthroat world in AFL teaching and so typically choices are made on feelings, with Ratten being fired months after being prolonged coming instantly to thoughts. However for Dew, the chilly onerous info stay that the Suns could be higher off chopping ties with him.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here