Home Rugby Australia A squad named to face Tonga

Australia A squad named to face Tonga

Australia A squad named to face Tonga


Some skilled Wallaby campaigners have been named within the Australia A squad which is about to face a rejuvenated Tonga group on July 14.

13 of the 25 gamers within the Australian squad have expertise in a Wallabies jersey, none greater than Bernard Foley, who was a shock omission from Eddie Jones’ Rugby Championship squad.

Three former Sevens gamers have been chosen, with Brumbies speedster Corey Toole persevering with his outstanding rise after a breakout season in Tremendous Rugby Pacific. He’s joined by Lachie Anderson and former All Black Sevens participant Ollie Sapsford.

Video Spacer
Video Spacer

“It’s great to build on the foundations of the Australia A program from last year with another hit out against Test-quality International opposition in Tonga,” coach Jason Gilmore said in a statement.

“Eddie has selected a group with a huge amount of talent and alongside the rest of the Australia A coaches, I’m looking forward to working closely with them and maximising our time together.”

The match will take place in Tonga on the 50th anniversary of Tonga’s victory over the Wallabies; a match where Fatai Kefu, the father of current Tonga coach and Wallabies legend Toutai Kefu, represented the Ikale Tahi.

Lachlan Anderson (Melbourne Rebels)

Jock Campbell (Queensland Reds)

Josh Canham (Melbourne Rebels)

Pone Fa’amausili (Melbourne Rebels)

Folau Fainga’a (Western Force)

Issak Fines-Leleiwasa (Western Force)

Bernard Foley (Kubota Spears)

Josh Flook (Queensland Reds)

Jake Gordon (NSW Waratahs)

Ned Hanigan (NSW Waratahs)

Tom Lambert (NSW Waratahs)

Lachlan Lonergan (ACT Brumbies)

Cadeyrn Neville (ACT Brumbies)

James O’Connor (Queensland Reds)

Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (Melbourne Rebels)

Ollie Sapsford (ACT Brumbies)

Blake Schoupp (ACT Brumbies)

Lachlan Swinton (NSW Waratahs)

Sam Talakai (Melbourne Rebels)

Corey Toole (ACT Brumbies)

Seru Uru (Queensland Reds)

Rhys Van Nek (ACT Brumbies)

Joey Walton (NSW Waratahs)

Brad Wilkin (Melbourne Rebels)

Harry Wilson (Queensland Reds)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here